At D'Arcy & Deacon, we are proud of our heritage of providing expert legal counsel since 1878 after Hebert Archibald was admitted as a member of the Manitoba Law Society. In 1879 Hector Howell joined him to form Archibald and Howell.

Since that time, we have served the legal needs of businesses, institutions and citizens under a succession of names. In 1971, the firm of Swift, MacLeod, Deacon and Kirby joined D'Arcy, Irving, Haig and Smethurst to form D'Arcy & Deacon.

The late Norman J. D'Arcy, Q.C. was a respected and active member of the Manitoba legal community. The late Ivan J.R. Deacon, Q.C., served his clients as well as the profession in his capacity as the President of the Law Society, Vice-President of the Canadian Bar Association, and President of the Manitoba Bar Association. As well, our legacy has been enriched by such counsel as the Hon. Gordon Minto Churchill, Q.C., PC, Senator James Campbell Haig, Q.C., and Graeme T. Haig, MC, CM, CD, Q.C.

At D'Arcy & Deacon, our lawyers work together with our paralegals and dedicated administrative and support staff to pay close attention to the needs and success of our clients.

Our firm has developed in both size and reputation as clients refer us to others. Although the name has changed through the years, one constant remains: our resolute commitment to serve the best interests of our clients.